Are you a legal resident of the State of Maine?
Have you owned a Homestead property in Maine for at least the last 12 months?
Do you declare this property to be your permanent place of residence?
If you answered yes to these 3 questions you may qualify for up to $15,000* off your property tax valuation.
*Recent Legislation passed in Augusta is scheduled to reduce the maximum homestead amount to $15,000 beginning in 2016.
To receive the exemption you submit a application on or before April 1st to your local assessor. The Assessor will determine if the application qualifies for the exemption using applicable State Law. Applicants must meet all criteria as of April 1st of the year of application in order to recieve the exemption that year.
To view the application for Homestead exemption. Click Here
To view the State Law governing the exemption. Click Here
Please submit completed applications by April 1st to the Gardiner Assessors office. 6 Church St. Gardiner, ME 04345